About the Commission

The Beaver Emergency Services Commission is a regional partnership, established by an Order in Council, between the Towns of Tofield, Viking, Villages of Holden, Ryley and Beaver County.

The Beaver Emergency Services Commission manages the administration and oversees operations of volunteer fire departments Tofield, Ryley, Holden, Bruce, Viking and Kinsella. Fire Department operations in each of the towns and villages are managed by a District Fire Chief and many dedicated volunteer firefighters. Our fleet consists of 8 pumpers, 4 tankers, 7 brush trucks, 2 rescue units 3 utility vehicles and  2 quads.

Commission headquarters are located at 4924-53 Avenue in Viking, Alberta.

Established in 2010, the Beaver Emergency Services Commission (BESC) has a mandate of fire services and emergency management services to our municipal partners. The regional partnership, the first of its kind in Alberta, consists of six local fire departments with approximately 100 volunteer firefighters. Collectively, they respond to more than 300 calls annually.

BESC manages the operation of volunteer fire departments in each of the Towns of Tofield and Viking, the Villages of Ryley and Holden, and the Hamlets of Bruce and Kinsella. Level of service varies from Level 3 in Tofield, Holden and Viking (full fire suppression, rescue efforts, and first aid application), to Level 2 in Ryley (full fire suppression and first aid application), and Level 1 in Bruce and Kinsella (grass fire suppression and first aid application). Individual fire department operations are managed by a District Fire Chief and many dedicated volunteer firefighters.

Levels of Service according to Standard Operating Guidelines passed by BESC Board of Directors, Motion # 21-238, December 8, 2021

Level 1           Service provided by Kinsella and Bruce to a limited level of service according to qualifications and resources. Under the direction of a level 3 station, they provide defensive support for local area fires, motor vehicles collision, and other emergency incidents when safe to do so. This may include first response to grass/ bush fires, to other local area fires, traffic control for motor vehicle collision, and medical first response as assistance is requested by EMS unit(s).

Level 2           Service is provided by Ryley fire department is at level 2 service according to qualification and resources. Working in conjunction with a level 3 station, may provide response support for their local area fires when safe to do so, motor vehicle collisions, traffic control and medical assistance as requested by EMS unit(s).

Level 3           Service is provided by Tofield, Holden, and Viking stations according to qualifications and resources. Each station shall provide all levels of fire suppression, rescue, traffic control, medical assistance and hazardous materials first response in respective fire areas.

Note:              Vehicle rescue (extrication) is provided by Tofield, Holden and Viking. Service areas are as follows.

                        Holden West – Tofield

                        Holden Fire District - Holden

                        Holden East – Viking

 For more information regarding BESC, please contact:

BESC at  780.336.3041 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.